2018 FedHealthIT100 Honors Government and Industry Leaders

Monday, December 18, 2017

On Monday, Dec. 11, 2017, the print and digital publication FedHealthIT recognized government and industry leaders for their “desire and willingness to challenge conventional wisdom, to go above and beyond, to drive innovation, and to give back” to the federal health IT market.

Andrea Norris, the chief information officer of NIH and the director of CIT, was recognized as part of the 2018 FedHealthIT100 for continuing “to implement the types of innovative solutions and approaches that create real efficiencies across the NIH enterprise.” 

During the FedHealthIT100 event, two panels were held that focused on the future of health care, and Norris served as a keynote panelist for the panel “2018: A Look Ahead,” along with Scott Blackburn (VA), Mark Goodge (DHA), Genevieve Morris (ONC), and Brad Wintermute (FDA). “Partnerships are critical,” said Norris during the panel, where she discussed such cross-cutting NIH programs as All of Us, the NIH Data Commons, and the Accelerating Medicines Partnership on Alzheimer’s. “This is too big for any one of us to solve. We need data to move—everyone needs that.” 

Besides Andrea Norris, two other leaders from NIH were recognized: Ivor D’Souza, Chief Information Officer, National Library of Medicine, and Alastair Thompson, Chief Information Officer, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.

Other FedHealthIT100 winners from the Department of Health and Human Services included:

  • Adriane Burton, Chief Information Officer, HRSA
  • Adrien Abrams, Director of the Data and Analytics Strategy Group, CMS
  • Anita Allen, Small Business Specialist, CMS
  • Beth Killoran, Chief Information Officer, HHS
  • Brad Wintermute, Deputy Chief Information Officer and Director of the Office of Technology and Delivery, FDA
  • Bruce Greenstein, Chief Technology Officer, HHS
  • Dan Levenson, Digital Service Contracting Advisor and Contracting Officer of the Office of Acquisition and Grants Management, CMS
  • Gail Kalbfleisch, Director of Federal Health Architecture, HHS
  • Genevieve Morris, Principal Deputy National Coordinator for HIT, ONC
  • George Chambers, Executive Director of the Office of IT Infrastructure and Acting Executive Director of the Office of Enterprise Application Development, HHS
  • George Hoffman, Chief Information Officer and Acting Director of the Office of Information Technology, CMS
  • Gopal Khanna, Director, AHRQ
  • Hilmar Hamann, Director of the Office of Business Informatics, CDER
  • Janet Vogel, Deputy Chief Information Officer and Deputy Director for Operations of the Office of Information Technology, CMS
  • Jason Vollmer, Director of the Acquisition and Grants Group, CMS
  • John Enggren, Grants.gov Program Manager, HHS
  • Letitia Royal, Director of the MarketPlace IT Group, CMS
  • Mark Plaugher, Deputy Director of the Information Systems Group, CMS
  • Suzi Connor, Chief Information Officer, CDC
  • Todd Simpson, Chief Information Officer, FDA

(Image caption: NIH Chief Information Officer and CIT Director Andrea Norris listens to FDA Deputy Chief Information Officer Brad Wintermute during the "2018: A Look Ahead" panel at FedHealthIT100.)

back to top icon